Wednesday 4 July 2007

The Story of the Novel

I've been enjoying the Channel 4 programme The Story of the Novel through 4oD. It gives a pretty good introduction to the history of the English novel. Here are the major novels they have included in their canon (I've read the ones crossed out):

Episode 1: 18th-century origins
Daniel Defoe, Robinson Crusoe (1719)
Samuel Richardson, Pamela (1740); Clarissa (1747-8)
Henry Fielding, Shamela (1741); Tom Jones (1749)
Jane Austen, Northanger Abbey (1798)

Episode 2: 19th century
Walter Scott, Ivanhoe (1819)
Charles Dickens, Great Expectations (1860-1)
Elizabeth Gaskell, Mary Barton (1848)
Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre (1847)
William Makepeace Thackeray, Vanity Fair (1847-8)
George Eliot, Middlemarch (1871)
Henry James, The Portrait of a Lady (1881)
George Gissing, New Grub Street (1891)
Thomas Hardy, Tess of the d'Urbervilles (1891); Jude the Obscure (1895)

No comments:

Post a Comment